1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Car Accidents
  4.  » Car insurance and Maryland law

Car insurance and Maryland law

In our last post, we began speaking about some insurance concerns connected to the use of ridesharing services like those offered by companies such as Uber and Lyft. As we mentioned, it is important for motorists who are utilizing these services, whether as a passenger or as a driver, to understand their coverage.

Knowing the type and extent of one’s insurance coverage is important not only to ensure that there are no gaps in one’s coverage, but especially so that one is able to discern when the insurance company administering their policy is acting properly and fairly after an accident occurs. 

Here in Maryland, as in all states, there are minimum requirements for insurance coverage. State law requires motorists to obtain insurance in the amount of at least $30,000 in bodily injury, $60,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $15,000 for property damage. Maryland law also requires motorists to obtain uninsured motorist coverage in the same amounts.

In addition, all motorists are required to obtain at least $2,500 in personal injury protection coverage, though this coverage may be waived for certain individuals. Personal injury protection, sometimes called no-fault insurance, reimburses motorists for reasonable and necessary medical expenses and lost wages, no matter who caused the accident.

Motorists who abide by the law and obtain the required amounts of insurance coverage can and should expect that their insurer will do right by them. In cases where an insurance company fails to follow through with its obligations, accident victims can be left to manage serious medical bills and other financial costs on their own. In our next post, we’ll speak a bit more about insurance coverage and potential signs that an insurance company may be acting improperly with respect to coverage.

Archives

FindLaw Network
Badge Image
Badge Image
Badge Image
Badge Image
Badge Image
Badge Image
Badge Image